Work Work Work!

In the run up to christmas I was working a lot.  I mean I worked every day for the 15th Dec to the 24th Dec for at least 6 hours (up to 11 hours).  And the I got a single day off before working boxing day.  In actual fact I worked 4 of the 5 days strait after christmas.

And all that work, actually I didn’t mind it.  It was all for money, and that money has been well used.  I now no longer have any balance on my credit card, and believe me, that is a weight of my shoulder.

Anyway, New Year was my time off.  I got t go and visit my mum which was nice, as I don’t get to see her that often anymore.  But I had 12 days off from work and volunteering, but work has started in earnest again now.  I have worked every day since Saturday (Today I volunteered for 8 hours before working 3) and I only have 1 day where I am neither working or doing something towards my volunteering.

It may seem hard, or like it is almost too much work, but it isn’t and I don’t actually mind.  And that it because a special thing has happened.

For the first time since I was at school I have a direction that I want to go for the next few years.  The big difference between then and now is that before it was purely because I would be following the education system, just like a sheep follows a crowd.

This time I have a direction, know how I am going to achieve it, and actually want it.

Now what is this direction I hear you ask.  Well, next september I should ( will unless something major changes, or the final bit of paperwork doesn’t go through) be starting a course in Landscape Management.  This is an area that I find fascinating, and actually want to work in.  The good thing about this course is that it is one year long, but will be awarding a degree.

Following the completion of the course I am then hoping to go travelling.  I’m not sure where and I’m not sure for how long.  But I will do it.  I know that I need to save some money to go travelling, but I have read some quite inspirational posts about how to save.  And actually if I start saving I think that it will help me with other things I wish to improve.  For a start it means that I won’t be able to buy junk food and drinks, and that will seriously help with my weight and fitness.

I shall now say goodbye after working for over 11 hours today (and having to travel into and out of London in the Rush Hour) before I pass out on my computer.

Good Night

Leave a Reply

