Dear Diary

So, It has been a while since I have written anything on here.  It was a couple of years ago that I was going to write something every week for a year, and well it lasted 4 week.  But I am back.

I guess I never was that big a writer, its probably why I never had a diary, but I think it is probably therapeutic to write out your thoughts sometimes and this is as good a place as any to write it.

So what ha been on my mind recently.  I guess it has been about work, and how it is taking over my life.  People talk about having a good work life balance, and I think that it is important but at the moment I am not achieving it.  It was only a couple of weeks ago that I worked 60 hours in 1 week.

Don’t get me wrong, working long weeks isn’t inherently a bad thing, but it all depends on the reason that you do it.  If you love what you do for a job, and you are satisfied by the result of what you do then go full steam ahead.  But if you are like me (and probably like most people) then you don’t enjoy what you do for a job and you are doing it for the paycheck at the end of the month.

That is what I don’t think is healthy.  When you start to think about it you realise that life is too short to do something you hate, just to earn money, to support yourself doing something that you hate.  I am reminded of a great song by Grace Petrie which really sums up this feeling, one line in particular seems really poignant

“and yer I want a house like that, but to work so much that I’m never in it doesn’t make much sense to me”

So the question is, what is it that I want to do, what is it I would be happy spending all my time doing.  To answer that I need to think about what I enjoy and then work out how to turn it into a job.

So the big thing that I like doing is walking.  I already walk over 10 miles a day, and that when I m not actively going out on walks.  Whether it be on my own or in a group there is just something about walking that seems the fulfills me, thats why I am planning to the wainwright coast to coast walk later this year.

So I have to go off to work now, but I think it was good to try and organise my thoughts ab bit and write them down, maybe I’ll have to do it again some time.   have a day of work tomorrow however, so maybe I could go out for a nice country walk somewhere, that is if i am not just recovierng from working so much.

Thats it for now, see you again soon.

 

Leave a Reply

